A Taste of Language

It isn’t hard to find time to read every good book that comes out. Or all the bad ones I want to read anyway. I will definitely be finishing all these on my list this semester. Oh, and more.

In fact, I only haven’t read these important books which everyone else has already read because I’ve been saving them to savor over.

Like:

  • Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things (novel)
  • Anne Carson’s Autobiography of Red (verse novel)
  • Salman Rushdie’s The Satanic Verses (literary uproar)
  • John Updikes’ Rabbit series (novels, not about bunnies)
  • Philip Roth’s American Pastoral (enough with the novels, eh?)
  • John D’Agata’s Halls of Fame: Essays (essays, he says)
  • Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker’s Creek (beautiful essays)
  • John Ashberry: Collected Poems
  • Frank O’Hara’s Lunch Poems (work snack)
  • Ted Kooser’s Delights & Shadows (place poetry)

-Katie Booms

One response to “A Taste of Language

  1. Aaron D. Graham

    I feel similarly about my current reading list/ books I have just completed. It may seem trite to some reading this that many of my books are ‘academic’ or ‘should be read for a class not pleasure’. While in an ideal world this would be true, I have not seen these on the book-list for any class during my stay at UWYO.

    At any rate, here they are (with a little annotation as to my reason for reading them at this time):

    1: Three Discourses on Imagined Occasions, S. Kierkegaard (Marriage pep-talk/ self-help book)
    2: The Brothers Karamazov, F. Dostoevsky (re-reading, is the one book that when critics say “you can feel the music the author intended in a translation of the text” I actually can feel the music)
    3: Opened Ground, Seamus Heaney (Focused on understanding/ writing about “Station Island”)
    4: The Golden Bough vol. XI: Aftermath, J. Frazier (the basis for everything ANT/ SOC/ HUMN/ PSYC classes teach about culture, myth, & Jungian theory but without the agenda each of these fields always superimpose on Frazier’s masterwork)
    5: The Complete Works of Gerard Manly Hopkins (poetry, beautiful)
    6: The letters of TSE Volume 2 (compilation: I think it a better approach to understanding the man than any biography will ever find)
    7: The Abolition of Man, C.S. Lewis (apologetics)
    8: Select Treatises of St. Athanasius, J.H. Newman (Brilliant work)
    9: The Metamorphosis, Ovid (Re-reading–> Mythic–> I think it gives Homeric Epic a run for its money as far a significance goes)
    10: Our Mutual Friend, C. Dickens (I am fascinated by this book, and think it–so far– to be his best. No idea why Bleak House is always taught and this one never sees the classroom, a disservice if you ask me)

    JUST FINISHED (IN THE PAST MONTH):
    ~The Anatomy of Criticism, Northrop Frye (Perhaps the best basis for anyone ever studying or dabbling in structuralism, poststructuralism, narratological criticism, or ‘green-world’)
    ~ Hamlet, Harold Bloom (Essay(s) and background material)
    ~ He do the Police in Different Voices: The Waste Land and its Protagonist, Calvin Bedient (Psychoanalytical reading of TWL–Powerful!)
    ~ Concluding Unscientific Postscript, S. Kierkegaard
    ~ The Sickness Unto Death, S. Kierkegaard
    ~ The Case of Wagner, Nietzsche (I think his most witty and hilarious work, with a glib tone and sense of irony I consider on par or better than Wilde’s)

    Cheers,

    Aaron D. Graham